Trust (Continually leading our kids straight to the Father)

On vacation, I had taken my kids to an indoor swimming park for fun and while there, I placed my son on my lap to go down this kiddy slide. In preparing to do so, all I could think was, wow my son is trusting me to ride this slide boy, this will be soooo cool. But to my surprise, the way I positioned him on my lap only ended up causing harm. You see, his weight actually pushed us both down into the water as we fell off the slide and when that happened we went under, to where I could hardly get myself up, let alone, grab my son.

Then, once I was finally was able to grab him out of the water, to see the terror in his eyes, was a look no mother would ever want to see in their child and I just felt horrible. I felt bad because my son had put his full trust in me, and I had let him down. After that, he was so frightened by the water that he had no desire to be in it, and it was at that moment, I once again, felt a continual GREAT need for the Heavenly Father, understanding yet again, no matter how hard I try, truth is, because I am human, I do fail.

In seeing my failure, I again, clearly saw my need to continually point my children more and more, to THE one who will NEVER fail them, THE one who CAN be trusted a hundred percent, THE one who DOES protect, DOES provide being, The Almighty Father. It also, reminded me to have NO confidence in my own flesh.

Looking back on that situation, what I definitely would’ve done different was first, I would’ve prayed. You see, the enemy loves to catch us when our guard is down, all in the name of relaxation. I would’ve also put my son on a life vest, watched others on the slide first to see how they were landing and lastly, I would’ve  positioned him differently such that, we could’ve landed in a more efficient way being, out of the water instead of submerged.

But in and through it all, HALLELUJAH, the Father WAS with us, and He DID prevent us from a tragedy. Though, I’d never like to experience that again still, it was a good reality check for me to see my need, like never before, to continue to lead my children straight to THE perfect one.

Oh, how awesome it is, that we have the opportunity to lead our children to such a one.

Being that the Father is a restorer, He did restore because right before we ended of our trip, my son once again, played his little heart out confidently in the water. And when I saw that, I was ever so grateful to the Father for Him being, the restorer who can and does bring about healing and restoration to even our outright mistakes, sins, and lack of…

Thank you Father!
Psalm 18:30 reads: As for God, his way is perfect;1 the word of the LORD is flawless.2 He is a shield3 for all who take refuge4 in him.

Thanks for Reading

One thought on “Trust (Continually leading our kids straight to the Father)

Leave a comment